I got home on Friday and, more importantly, got to be back with Susie after two weeks away. The long flight from Delhi to Newark and connections to Dallas (me) and San Jose (Dad) went smoothly; although a silent, empty Newark airport was a bit eerie at 4:30 in the morning. Now I just need to convince my body that falling asleep at 5 PM and waking up at 3 AM is not really what I need when I go back to work tomorrow. I want to finish this blog with a couple of final thoughts and some updates (see below).

My little journey back to India was a wonderful experience. Of course, flying business class, staying in luxury hotels, and using a car and driver was a very different India experience from what I had in high school (third class train tickets and cheap, dingy hotels)… but one that’s easy to get used to. I am grateful to my cousin, Lynn Mumby, who made it all happen.

I can’t explain how much it meant to share this adventure with my father. He and I have done a lot together over the years, and we quickly fell into an easy rapport. Re-visiting Woodstock and seeing the improvements with him was very special. He is an amazing man. He turns 83 on October 7th and has a bum knee, but he walked from the Hanifl Center to Woodstock, then all the way down to Hanson Field… and back! He was game for everything that was thrown at him during the trip, including speaking at the gym dedication ceremony. I can only hope to be capable of that much when I’m his age.

I also want to thank all of you who have followed along on this trip, especially those who sent comments. It made the trip even more fun for me.

Till the next adventure,
Marc

Updates

  • New Woodstock Gym – Here is a copy of the Woodstock Gym Factsheet that Woodstock prepared with everything you want to know about the new Win Mumby gym.
  • Dance Party Video – a short video clip from the dance party held the evening of the Win Mumby Gym dedication ceremony. Not exactly like the dances we had when I attended Woodstock! Yeah, I know, the sound sucks… sorry.